Someone that you used to know.

For that moment…for that month….that year…that decade…you knew me.

You knew what made me who I was, at that time.

You heard what had gone before and saw what was happening then.

You heard my opinions, you felt my pain, shared my happiness, saw what I had become.

But when that end came…that connection between us ceased to be.

From that moment on everything that I felt, that changed who I am as a person, did not include you.

Interactions, developments, new people, new experiences…all create new elements which make up: who I am, what I want from life, how I deal with situations, how I feel about people, about myself, about you.

The wound left by grieving our end in many ways fundamentally changed who I am in a way that you will never be able to accept.

You may never know the person that I am today. To you I may always be that person that I was a month ago, a year ago, a decade ago.

You can keep that person that I was. Think of that person as you wish. But do NOT presume that you know me now. Do NOT presume that you know why I do the actions I do, or say the words I say. You may have a snapshot of me at some point in my history, but life moves on.

You chose to become my past, do not presume you understand me now.

2 comments

  1. Thanks on your marvelous posting! I truly enjoyed reading it, you could
    be a great author. I will remember to bookmark your blog and will come back in the foreseeable future.
    I want to encourage that you continue your great posts, have a nice day!

    Like

Leave a Reply

