A life of Sundays….

What does a Sunday mean to you?

Sunday, more so than any other day, has a lot of  connotations for people.

Sundays have seen a lot of resting. Recovering either from a Saturday night out or a hard week….or both!

They would feature a restless sleep (drunkenly unconscious?), a late and hazy start to the day, usually in search of a remedy to stop the banging head, queasy stomach and aching limbs (I like dancing….a lot!).IMG_1056

The first few hours would always seem to be in slow motion, like my brain and body were resisting all attempts to make them function.

On these Sundays nothing note worthy would usually get done, some eating, maybe some chatting over the night before, some mind-numbing internet trawling. Resting, recovering, getting ready to be human enough to tackle Monday.

The better Sundays, one’s which aren’t spent detoxing, still usually have an overall slower feel. When I was younger our family would all get together at my Grandparents to eat. Sunday dinner…Mmm…when you eat just that little bit more than you thought you’d ever manage and it leaves you feeling sleepy and unable to move for a few hours after.

 

IMG_0507

Maybe it’s something to do with that tradition, or maybe it’s because when I was growing up shops weren’t really open on Sunday’s and people tended to retreat into their family unit. Perhaps that’s why I have always felt that Sunday’s aren’t days for Doing anything in particular. Maybe go for a leisurely drive with the dog and have a stroll, maybe do a bit of crafting, eat a hearty meal, but nothing too strenuous; as ultimately Monday was always descending, bringing with it either work or school/uni.

There was always that odd Sunday, that unusual day when I’d take Sunday by storm! Either ransacking the house for a ‘spring clean’, or having a get-together with friends…..but they were few and far between.

Since being diagnosed with M.E last year I feel like my life is perpetual Sundays. When I first said this to my boyfriend, he laughed and said but isn’t that a good thing?!

To which I explained…what about having a Sunday when it feels like you are hungover, with flu-like symptoms, as if you’ve been dancing all night…..but didn’t have the fun of it?IMG_0023

Or having that slow paced, hazy, lackluster feeling every day just because of a energy sucking illness?

Alas, in someways a life of Sundays is alright, I can’t do much, but I can enjoy the slower paced niceties in life, a bit of crafting, a teeny bit of socializing, keeping up with the minimum housework.

It leaves me frustrated when friends don’t see that a Sunday is my best day of the week.

I do miss Saturdays…I miss being able to go out dancing, I miss earning the exhaustion of a Sunday. You might not be able to see my illness in typical ways but every day is the aftermath of a very hard week.

 

-Auburn xx

 

11046489_10153704704242575_4156956539702268273_n

4 comments

  1. Sundays for me are either spent as a very lazy day, typically chilling on the sofa and watching something on DVD/Blu Ray or they’re spent running about mad before a wrestling show.

    That last part may sound crazy but when you’re meeting friends in town at 3pm, travelling takes longer due to Sunday service on buses and trains. The actual event itself doesn’t usually start ’til 7pm but I like to be first in the queue if possible. I’ve also got to generally be carrying a rather large plastic folder with my signs inside.

    Even when I lived at home, Sundays were generally quite relaxed mostly because either myself or my parents (or on some occasions both!) had been out the previous evening. Mum didn’t go in for a big Sunday lunch or dinner though.

    Like

  2. Hello,

    I am a student journalist from the UK, currently studying at University of Technology Sydney.

    I am writing a colour story/feature on recent scientific discoveries linked to CFS such as the study (April 2014) where evidence was found that CFS sufferers have neuroinflamation.

    I have experienced the stigmatism attached to CFS so I am writing this story to discover what it means to people with CFS and the positive affects scientific evidence can have. I am also interested in those involved in the research and raising awareness process to hear their opinion on the fact that there is now scientific evidence linked to CFS.

    I wondered if I would be able to speak to you for my story?

    Kind Regards,

    Emma Louise

    Like

Leave a Reply

