Millionaire’s Caramel Shortbread *yum*

This is the first time I have attempted to make this treat, which is surprising as it’s one of my favorites!

I’ll give pointers where I feel I could have made this a bit better though so hopefully you can improve on mine, although they did turn out very, very yummy indeed!

Ingredients:

Base: 160g Plain Flour

60g Caster Sugar

115g Butter

Caramel: 397g Tin of Condensed Milk

2 Tbsp Golden Syrup

100g Light Brown Sugar

100g Butter

Topping: 150g Milk Chocolate

50g White Chocolate

**Preheat oven to 180 degrees**

IMG_0685

So I’ve not been feeling too well this week, kinda like a lot of weeks, so I cheated slightly and used a food processor to mix together the Flour, Butter, and Sugar, you want it looking like breadcrumbs which is perfectly possible to do by hand.

Okay, my first problem with this recipe is that the amounts I used were IMG_0686enough for a 18cm square tray…which I don’t own! So instead of increasing my mixture I used a larger tray and just kept it small. This did cause it’s own problems, the base should have been a bit thicker. So! If you don’t have a 18cm square tray, increase the mixture accordingly, you base wants to be thicker than mine in the picture!

Taking the breadcrumbed mixture, just press it into the tray till it’s firm, then pick with a fork. IMG_0689

Now put it in the fridge for half an hour.

Once the half an hour is up it’s going into the oven for 30mins. Be careful not to leave it in too long…it will be quite a crunchy biscuit base rather than soft shortbread.

While this is in the oven you can get started on making the caramel!

There are videos showing how to make caramel just by heating up a can of Condensed Milk but I’ve gone for a different method- more sugar!

IMG_0690In a pan add the tin of Condensed Milk, remaining butter, Golden Syrup and sugar. I went for a dark moscavado sugar as it’s one of my favourites, but if you want more traditional caramel a light brown sugar would be better. I also added into the mix a teaspoon of salt. Salted caramel is divine after all, but that is completely optional.

Heat this until it’s blended and melted. It will begin to bubble slightly so watch out. It should get thicker too which is what you want. IMG_0692

Now, with the base out of the oven, you can pour the caramel over the shortbread. As you can see, mine got very messy thanks to my improv tray!

This next part it quite testing for a lot of people…this has to be left in the fridge for IMG_0693about 30mins to allow the caramel to set.

At around an 15mins into the agonising wait, you could start preparing the chocolate.

I opted for my usual favourites, Green and Black, their white chocolate is particularly lovely, which hints of vanilla.

Two pans, melt the chocolate separately, on a low to medium heat. When melting IMG_0696chocolate I usually got for the safe option of a pan of chocolate placed on top of a pan of boiling water so safeguard against burning…but I don’t have 5 pans! So just keep watch and stir frequently.

With the caramel now set, pour the milk chocolate over making sure to cover all the caramel. Then with a spoon, I took small amounts of white chocolate and just…traced IMG_0698the spoon over the milk chocolate in mid air, letting the white chocolate fall, it’s very fun. You can get a chop stick or the like and trace patterns into it, but this method worked fine for me 🙂

Here comes the really hard part….this now needs to go back in the fridge for about 2 HOURS!! I know *sigh* it’s very tempting to just eat it right there and then, but I promise it will be worth the wait! Just keep yourself distracted!

Once it’s set, assuming you could leave it alone long enough, slice it into squares, rectangles, triangles, whatever you like!

And finally enjoy!

-Auburn xxIMG_0702IMG_0701

4 comments

Leave a Reply

