A few of my favourite books

I love reading a new book, exploring it, being surprised, or sometimes disappointed. For those times when you just need to walk away from your life and become part of another world, there are a few that I keep turning back to. Here are a few that I know take me down a path of wonder and I hope they will for you too!

Occasionally I will vacation to The Ramptops to visit Granny Weatherwax. Terry Pratchett’s Discworld gives you so much choice, from Pyramids to hustling city, it’s all there. Or I take a journey North with Sorren in Elizabeth A. Lynn’s The Northern Girl, as she tries to understand her heritage and her gift.

UnknownMost days I wish I would look out of my window, and in the distance spot a black and white striped tent that had mysteriously appeared during the night. Or on those days when dinner just isn’t appetising and I want to gorge on the words of Erin Morgenstern as she creates a dinner party for the senses. With contortionists and exotic food, edible artwork served on a plate at midnight. Oh to be at that table, to discuss the beautiful, the enchanting, the grotesque nature of our world, and of course the creation of the circus. I feel I will always venture back inside The Night Circus, just to live for a few hours, to have the world filled with secret passageways and salted caramel popcorn. To wear a red scarf, to receive that invitation, to wait outside those wrought iron gates.

Some days I just want to make a home for myself in these worlds of wonder and whimsy. Worlds where not everything is as it seems.

Worlds where a crooked man will visit one night and lead you to a kingdom alive with fairy-tales, brimming with deceit in an Unknown-1attempt to lead you astray.  Perhaps you will encounter the solider to aid in the battles ahead, a quest through the forest to find the fallen king. In John Connolly’s The Book of Lost Things, you can join a young boy as he learns the ways of the world, and the reality of heartbreak, all told with the use of these well known yet reimagined characters.

Or perhaps you dare to venture into the topsy-turvy world of Haruki Muakami’s Hard-Boiled Wonderland and the End of the World. To juggle between a world where you are hunted by unknown men wanting the Unknown-2contents of your brain or unable to leave an unfamiliar utopia where you have to loose your shadow. To read of someone so content to follow orders that they don’t question their role in life, it leaves you racing to the end to try and get answers. It’s truly an adventure holiday for your mind!

These are some of my favourite books, what are yours?

-Auburn xx

2 comments

Leave a Reply

