5 Books for Development

 

I really, really love books. Fiction is my great, epic love, but Non-Fiction can come in very handy indeed.

Sometimes I read fiction books which have a profound affect on how I see the world and my place within that.

Others could read the same book and come away with a completely different idea, understanding, or bias.

Joys of fiction.

I’ll be the first to hold up my hand and say “I have no idea whats going on most of the time.”

Life. This long, journey we are all on. No amount of parenting or schooling can really prepare you.

Then, even when you are prepared, life goes and changes and you need to catch up.

So here are 5 books that have positively impacted on my journey. I hope they do the same for you.

 

Here are 5 Books I’ve found to be very helpful on my journey.

 

Sane New World by Ruby Wax

17984032

The term Mindfulness had already breached my atmosphere before I read Ruby’s book. And I will admit, I picked this book up mostly out of youthful curiosity. She had been a wild force on our TV Screens growing up, then after a melt down or three she seemed to disappear.

I started reading it already in a cynical mindset, from all my limited knowledge of this woman, could she really show me the path to ‘enlightenment’…or even just coping methods while I find it myself. The answer is, yes, yes she can.

Even reading about her quest for education was inspirational. The self development she underwent to gain her Masters in Cognitive Therapy was extraordinary.

If you are already sold on Mindfulness as a tool to deal with life, and are looking for more in depth study, this isn’t the book for you.

But, if you aren’t sold, or maybe agreeable with the concept but haven’t quite got round to trying it, then this is the book for you.

Ruby is honest, open, scathingly self critical, yet offers reflection, insight and tools to try a revolutionary technique.

I’m so happy I read this book. I started out with just a few of her techniques and now myself and my partner are regular Mindfulness practitioners.

 

 

The Art of Asking by Amanda Palmer

20980987Okay, so I might be a little biased with this choice. I’ve been a fan of Amanda since she was in the Dresden Dolls, and my little 14 year old self stood in small gatherings in church halls to witness this Punk Cabaret goddess on a keyboard.

Regardless of your opinion on her, most can’t argue with the change she had brought, and rode through this decades artistic community. In her work she has tried and succeeded to remove a lot of the barriers between artists and fans. Fans pay for the music/art/writing etc. almost directly to the artist. She has reclaimed the art of being famous. It is no longer based purely on whose label has the best contacts, the most money. Everything she does is communicated with her followers who have opportunities to be involved in that process.

She is an interesting person, who has chased her dreams even when they weren’t popular.

If you’re feeling a little low on Humanity Positivity, it’s a good read. Challenge your perspective. Question our current methods. Be open to change.

 

The Element: How Finding Your Passion Changes Everything by

Ken Robinson, Lou Aronica

7301673I love Ken Robinson too. If you haven’t heard of him, check out his videos on Youtube –this one in particular…or this one…maybe slip to 5mins in if you’re wanting to get stuck right in.

We watched the animated video in Psychology class back in college and it really struck a chord with me. So much so that I went and bought his book.

This book really leads you to examine your life, and how you have structured it. One aspect that always stuck with me is Your Tribe.

Your Tribe, is a concept of assessing who you have in your close circle, and why. Some people might feel this is too objective, that people can be in your life based totally on emotions…but be open to his thoughts, you may find truth in his ideas.

Writing this actually makes me want to go and find this book on my book shelf. I think I’m due a revision session!

I speak from the heart when I say that I still struggle with focus. Not just your simple, can’t finish this piece without checking Facebook, but the bigger stuff too. If I have too many projects on the go, with different passions driving them, inevitably one or more will fall by the wayside. Finding out what motivates you, what your passion truly is, can help you make decisions to move you in the right direction.

(I just found that he also has a talk on Netflix! Just search Ken Robinson)

 

How to be a Woman by Caitlin Moran.

 

10600242I’m pretty sure this book makes it into most lists like this…but there is a reason for it!

I found this book refreshing. She has gone on to have a collection in this style, but this is still my favourite.

Regardless of where you are from or who you are, I’m sure every woman could do with reading some honest, grizzly, and compassionate words. Caitlin is on a mission to undo all the female stereotypes built up by the patriarchy. Don’t worry, this isn’t a feminist manifesto, rather, it’s about the life of a woman, a funny one, who has used wisdom acquired by living to reflect on some of the moments with us.

The more that women accept that we don’t meet or need to meet, the glossy, compact female template prescribed to us, the easier it is to break down those anxiety breeding expectations of ourselves.

Read it!

 

 

Heart and Brain by the Awkward Yeti

25205337I love this collection of comics from the Awkward Yetti. I’d never really been into it much online, but then Lord Geekus ordered me this book and it was just what I needed.

Bright colours. Insightful messages. Banter to keep you chuckling. And it makes you feel warm and fuzzy.

Sometimes, you just need to stop what you’re doing and crawl underneath the duvet. When you do, take this book with you, it will keep you smiling when everything just gets too hard.

Taking time for self comfort is extremely important. Usually, you know when you’ve done too much, but you must listen every now and then.

I hope it makes you smile 😀

That’s all for today lovelies,

Be sure to let me know what you thought of these either in the comments or over on my Facebook Page.

Happy Reading!

-Auburn xx

2 comments

  1. I loved the last one ..still need to buy it ! We used Element in our be programme very useful and Ruby’s take on mindfulness is a treat 😊 … I love your blog and suggestions on reading material, my very 1st inspirational book was the Alchemist … think I might reread it to remind me of how it influenced my reading 🤓 Xxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

